Glass Beach

I was a whirlwind once

And I spun so wild and free

That I drifted off to sea

Now all I’m longing for is some distant northwest shore

Where vagabonds rest weathered and torn

Like wayward boulders heaved from the underbelly

There is a subdued city that waits for me

With high streets and low street

From mornings on Helios blooming ridges to nights in New Orleans

Where raindrops kiss your cheek

On cloudless days on sunny days in spring

Where a beautiful boy first met me at the garden gate

Told me he couldn’t keep a beat

But I could feel his pulse

Beat

But I was a whirlwind once

And when I drifted off to sea

I caught a catfish and he ate me

And inside his belly he had written a secret

Only absence shares with those who try to keep it

That loneliness is a whipping belt that turns the heart in upon itself

And love for another and love for the self

Hang above on a balance when neither are felt

Tipping, swaying, tumbling over in clusters

Leave a Reply

